Get a REAL JOB!

Well, here it is at last … the new year is about to start.

Get ready for more comments from friends and family about how you should get a REAL JOB! [I can hear the knowing laughs]

This is one of the most common things entrepreneurs face. I get it all the time. However, I love what I do and find the challenge of running a business is a good influence on my life. I have learned to balance the long hours of work with 20-minute naps during the day when there is time between projects. I have learned to make time for exercise. I have learned to eat foods that enhance my health and energy. I have learned to spot the onslaught of a cold and take immediate steps to rest, eat oranges and cook meals full of garlic. [maybe this is why my friends want me to do something else — grin]

Being an entrepreneur is not easy. Yes it takes long hours and careful control of your money, health and resources. Yes there are times when you must endure great disappointment and maintain the strength of character to get out in the world and double your efforts to succeed. Most people don’t understand why you continue this kind of life. They don’t understand that you love what you do because they don’t love what they do – sitting in a cubicle devoting their time, energy and creativity to someone else’s cause. Work, to them, is what they do to be able to have fun during weekends and vacations. To me, what I do at work is fun! I would do exactly the same thing even if I won the Lottery!

So, as 2013 is just about to begin, my message to all of you who are considering starting a business, have just started, or are fully engulfed in an entrepreneurial venture, is BRAVO! Keep going! Don’t listen to people who don’t understand. It is YOUR life to do with as you please, and following your own path is how you get to happiness.

Here is Robert Frost’s famous poem: The Road Not Taken  — something all you entrepreneurs understand …..

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both          

And be one traveler, long I stood          

And looked down one as far as I could 

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

                                                               

Then took the other, as just as fair,        

And having perhaps the better claim,    

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;       

Though as for that the passing there      

Had worn them really about the same,

                                                               

And both that morning equally lay        

In leaves no step had trodden black.     

Oh, I kept the first for another day!      

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,       

I doubted if I should ever come back.

                                                               

I shall be telling this with a sigh             

Somewhere ages and ages hence:          

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,              

And that has made all the difference

Source: http://www.bartleby.com/119/1.html

Leave a Reply

